Texas: One Memorable Day of Historical Significance

Ephesians 3:20 (KJV)
Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us

Since I have not yet defined the scope or the boundaries of this blog, I am going to assume that it is ok for me to share personal experiences. Since I am the creator of this blog, I am going to agree with myself that it is ok to share stories of things that happen in my life that are impactful.

My wife and I just got back from Texas this morning. We were there for a few days to help a friend coordinate a group of teenagers whose parent were attending an event in Ft. Worth. It was really an excuse for us to hang our with our friends, and enjoy some time together away from home. After some initial obstacles getting to Texas, we spent Thursday at a water park in Arlington, then had a nice meal out with our friends.

Friday, however, proved to be most memorable. We took the students to Mission Arlington, which was founded 25-30 years ago by two missionaries looking for a way to do missions in their own community. That dream has turned into a huge operation with over 300 locations providing food, clothes, healthcare, and a ton of other stuff to people in need in the community. These same people also get to hear the gospel, and experience the hands and feet of Jesus. It is truly an amazing thing they are doing and we were honored to be a part of it, even if just for a few hours. The students got to help sort and display shoes, kitchen goods, clothes, and whatever else they needed us to do. It was a hot Texas day, but there were probably 60 volunteers, maybe more, helping this giving-machine run. More cities need more people like this. Truly amazing.

After lunch, we arranged for the students to get a VIP tour of Cowboys Stadium. Now, I am not a Cowboys fan, and not even a very big football fan, but I was excited as anything to see this place. We toured the main part of the stadium, s

ome of the suites, a couple locker rooms, the media room, and finally ended up on the field. This is a $1.2 billion structure with the world’s largest everything in it. The big screen, the speakers, the stadium itself, everything was just over the top big. We spent a good hour
on the field playing touch football and running around like kids. I got to throw touchdown passes on an NFL field, and show a bunch of

teenagers that I could still run faster than them in a full length of the field race. We even got to sit and talk about the scripture verse above for a while.

We talked about how this stadium, in all its glory, was conceived, planned, and built by man. If we could create something like this, think what God could do; the creator of the universe, the maker of time and space. Cowboys Stadium was pretty amazing, but its got nothing on the Universe. We talked about how we could apply that to our own lives. So many times we limit our dream to what we can conceive of for our selves and it is usually infinitely smaller than what God can do in our lives.

20120623-190353.jpg

I want to be a writer, and in my mind publishing a single book and getting it on the shelves of a bookstore is about as big as I can realistically dream. But with God, anything is possible. I could be a best selling author of multiple books. I could use words to connect with people, to spread God’s message to them. I could change peoples’ lives through my writing. Who knows what I could do? Who knows what God is preparing me for? It is crazy to think about the fact the the same God that created the universe has a plan for my life. The guy who conceived of every atom that has ever existed has taken the time to think about what the plan is for my life. It’s mind boggling.

He has a plan for your life too, whether you believe it or not. Whether you believe it or not, he died for you. He came down to this earth as a man to live and die so that you could have an eternity of freedom from fear, doubt, worry, addiction, depression, abuse, and whatever else you are facing in your life. Amazing.

My day was not over yet.

20120623-190407.jpg

After we took the students back to the convention center to meet up with their parents, and after we had a nice BBQ dinner in downtown Ft. Worth, we loaded up into a van and drove over to Dallas. We parked just off Elm street near an administration building that used to be a book depository. We walked down Elm street and saw the X marked street where John F. Kennedy was shot. We looked up at the administration building and imagined Oswald up there, patiently waiting for just the right moment. We sat on the steps overlooking the scene and talked about what had happened there. I had seen it so many times on TV, in movies, documentaries, and online, but you never get a true feel of what it was like to be there that day until you are sitting there looking at the exact spot where such a tragic event occurred.
20120623-190413.jpg

It was a little strange being there, besides the obvious. One might think, since a president was shot there, that there would be more than 2 white X’s in the middle of a road and a plaque saying that this was the site of historical significance. If you didn’t know where you were, there weren’t many clues around that would tell you what the historical significance of the place was. I appreciate the fact that the site is relatively untouched. I liked being able to sit there without seeing a bunch of upgrades and additions to the view. I wanted to be able to stand on that grass and imagine that day without having to remove monuments and memorials in my mind’s eye. But still, the overwhelming feeling I got was that the city of Dallas did NOT want to be remembered as the City the shot JFK. So, they marked the spot and kept it historically accurate, but made sure to not draw extra attention to it.

After that we found our way back to our hotel and turned in for the night. It was an absolutely phenomenal day and I wish I had the words to accurately share my feelings towards the whole experience.

Have you had any memorable days lately? How did they impact your life?

Leave a Comment

