True Freedom with a Side of Nutella

I suppose I should write some 4th of July post as most people will today that talks about our country’s 236 year history as an independent nation; about how we have time and time again overcome adversity in order to preserve the freedoms that our forefathers dreamt of.

But I don’t want to be independent. I don’t want to not depend on another’s authority. I don’t want to be left to figure out life on my own. I don’t want to be self-sufficient.

I need an authority. I need guidance. I need the model of how to live. I’ve tried to do it myself; to do what I wanted. I’ve tried to ‘figure it out’ and failed miserably.

So on this day I will remember those that fought and died for our country. I will praise those that thought that religious freedom was a right that we should all have. I am thankful that someone fought for the idea of free speech and thought that free will was something that we should all be entitled to.

I celebrate freedom.

But my freedom came on a cross. My freedom came from a God who loves me enough that he would come down to this tiny, seemingly insignificant planet, humble himself as a human, live a sinless life, and die so that the rest of us could have the choice to spend an eternity with him. My freedom comes from a God that fulfills his promises to us; who rose from the dead and ascended into heaven just as he said he would. My freedom comes from that God and no place else.

I will enjoy time with friends and family today. I will eat too much food; stuffing my face with hot dogs, Italian sausage, potato salad, chips and dip, and some sort of sweet dessert that I hope involved Nutella. I will watch fireworks with my family, be mesmerized by their beauty, and in awe of their power. I will no doubt imagine what it was like during the early days of our country when we were at war, fighting to be free from a monarchical society. I will remember those men that gave their fortunes and their lives because they believed in something greater than themselves. No doubt.

But my freedom. My freedom belongs to the one who created me. My freedom belongs to my Lord, my God, my Savior, my Jesus.

Where does your freedom come from?

Leave a Comment

