Top 5 Things To Do When You Don’t Know What To Pray

Sometimes I just don’t know what to say to God. Maybe you have felt that way. You’ve had so much, or so little, happen in a single day that you just don’t know where to begin. On those days I will do one of about five different things.

  1. Forget to pray, or just skip it
  2. Fumble through a prayer and ramble on until I either find my focus or just run out of words
  3. Sit in silence and let God talk to me
  4. Ask God to search my heart for my real prayer
  5. Use a song that fits my prayer and offer that up to God


Today I went with number 5, and I thought I would share it with you all. So below are the lyrics to After Today by Sanctus Real.

Enjoy. You may want to listen to the song as you read the lyrics. 

After today I’ll get me out of this place

Into the world so I can set a new pace

It seems I’m on my own from here, I’ve gotta face so many fears

Won’t You lay me in Your hands of grace


Got a funny feeling that I’m gonna go away

I’m gonna face my future, gonna try to make the grade

I’ve got a ways to go from here and vision doesn’t seem so clear

But praise God, He’s got a plan, understanding isn’t my place


And after today I’m gonna come face to face

With a new world, who knows I’m feeling this way

I’ve got a ways to go from here, I’m gonna overcome these fears

But still I’m gonna need Your hands of grace


I’ve got a funny feeling that I’m gonna go away

I’m gonna face my future, gonna try to make the grade

I’ve got a ways to go from here and vision doesn’t seem so clear

But praise God, He’s got a plan, understanding isn’t my place


I’ll be a bigger man for, a bigger man for today

I’ll pray a bigger prayer for , a bigger prayer for today

I’ll dream a bigger dream for, a bigger dream for today


And I’ll be a bigger man for, a bigger man for today

And I’ll pray a bigger prayer for, a bigger prayer for today

And I’ll dream a bigger dream for, a bigger dream for today

And I’ll pray a bigger prayer for , a bigger prayer for today

And I’ll dream a bigger dream for, a bigger dream for today


I’ve got a funny feeling that I’m gonna go away

I’m gonna face my future, gonna try to make the grade

Got a ways to go from here and vision doesn’t seem so clear

But praise God, He’s got a plan, understanding isn’t my place


http://www.metrolyrics.com/after-today-lyrics-sanctus-real.html#ixzz1zyrD0RIn
Copied from MetroLyrics.com

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Things To Do When You Don’t Know What To Pray

  1. This happened to me yesterday!

    When I don’t have anything to pray…I either stop and listen and write down anything I think of…or I read a Bible passage…or I read a Psalm that is really meaningful and expresses my feelings. The Psalms are so good for prayers. 🙂

    It was great when I realized that I just didn’t have anything to say but I wanted to be with God. It’s really really okay to just listen or just read! It was a great realization for me because I think I put undue pressure on myself to speak (or write) sometimes.

    Thanks for the post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

