Random Proverbs

I thought today might be a good day for some random proverbs. So I jumped into Proverbs 18 and found some words of wisdom that might help us today.

Proverbs 18

4 Wise words are like deep waters; wisdom flows from the wise like a bubbling brook.

15 Intelligent people are always ready to learn. Their ears are open for knowledge.

20 Wise words satisfy like a good meal; the right words bring satisfaction.

22 The man who finds a wife finds a treasure, and he receives favor from the LORD.

24 There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.

I connected with these 5 verses especially. I haven’t spent a lot of time in Proverbs, but the few times I have ventured into this forest of phrases, I find some of the most interesting, and thought provoking statements.

Verse 4. I wish that was me. Who doesn’t love a good bubbling brook of wisdom? I bet it’s good for aching muscles too.

Verse 15. I think I can actually say that’s me…as long as it has nothing to do with geometry or trigonometry (FYI…I misspelled both those words. I can’t even write math).

Verse 20. If I could somehow create wise words and sell them for what some restaurants charge for meat, I would be a very wealthy man. I’d want my work to be the filet mignon of words. Right now it is more like deli sliced salami; tasty, but not very good for you.

Verse 22. Amen! (I love you babe! How’s that for public profession of love?)

Verse 24. I can’t say I have had many friends who have really hurt me (that I know of), but I can testify to the second part of this verse. God has blessed me with some great brothers over the past 3 years. I recommend everyone reach within their church family and find a group of people whom you can trust, and who will keep you accountable to following God.

What verses have touched your life recently?

Leave a Comment

