Random Proverbs 2

It’s time for another installment of Random Proverbs. It doesn’t always work to just open the Bible and randomly start reading. Wait, I should say it this way, I don’t always randomly read from the Bible, but when I do, I prefer Proverbs.

No. I’m not the most interesting man in the world, not even close. But, I can tell you where to find him. He’s in heaven right now preparing it for his followers. And, if you want to read more about him, then let me introduce you to my friends, Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Those guys know how to tell a story. That’s for sure.

Tonight, I randomly found Proverbs 3. Here are a few of the verses that hit me.

Proverbs 3

6 Seek his will in all you do,

and he will show you which path to take.

In all I do? That seems tough. I wish I knew what that looked like. That really means, pray all the time, doesn’t it? If so, that seems like a lot. People would say that God has more important things to worry about, but that’s not true. Your life is the most important thing to him; his relationship with you is the most important thing to him. Why wouldn’t he want us to talk to him all the time?

11 My child, don’t reject the LORD’s discipline,

and don’t be upset when he corrects you.

12 For the LORD corrects those he loves,

just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights.

Also, if you ask the Lord to correct you, be ready, because he will do it. When he does, it might feel like walking through fire, but you can do it. The Lord will not give you anything you can’t handle. Repeat that to yourself over and over, because sometimes it’s going to feel like it is too much. That’s all I have to say about that.

13 Joyful is the person who finds wisdom,

the one who gains understanding.

14 For wisdom is more profitable than silver,

and her wages are better than gold.

15 Wisdom is more precious than rubies;

nothing you desire can compare with her.

16 She offers you long life in her right hand,

and riches and honor in her left.

17 She will guide you down delightful paths;

all her ways are satisfying.

18 Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her;

happy are those who hold her tightly.

19 By wisdom the LORD founded the earth;

by understanding he created the heavens.

I don’t even know what to say here. I want this on a t-shirt. Or maybe I should just memorize it. If more people cared about gaining real wisdom instead of the accumulation of stuff, then there would be a lot more peace, and understanding in this world.

24 You can go to bed without fear;

you will lie down and sleep soundly.

25 You need not be afraid of sudden disaster

or the destruction that comes upon the wicked,

26 for the LORD is your security.

He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap.

This one is for my son. He sometimes fears being alone. And he is sleeping with a night light. But it doesn’t have to be the dark we fear. It could be anything. Some people fear the future. Some fear their past. Some fear they won’t have enough money to pay their mortgage. Some fear they won’t have a job tomorrow. Some have lost their job and their house and fear they will be killed before they wake up.

God is with you. He has a plan for you. And he knows how you fit into the bigger plan. If we trust in God, then we have nothing to fear.

Stay thirsty my friends.

How has God spoken to you lately?

Leave a Comment

