Random Proverbs 3

It’s Tuesday. It’s the fourth full day of the Olympics. And, it’s time for another edition of Random Proverbs. This week’s words of wisdom come from Proverbs 22, or as I like to say, Proverbs dub-duece (‘cause I’m gangsta that way).

Proverbs 22

2 The rich and poor have this in common:
The LORD made them both.

We all die. None of us get to take any of our money with us. God doesn’t care how successful you were in making money. What he cares about is how successful you were in loving your neighbor, regardless of what neighborhood you live in.

3 A prudent person foresees danger and takes precautions.
The simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences.

See my post from yesterday.

4 True humility and fear of the LORD
lead to riches, honor, and long life.

I won’t try to show my superior wisdom. This one speaks for itself. God, help me to live this.

6 Direct your children onto the right path,
and when they are older, they will not leave it.

In The Unshakable Truth, Josh McDowell discusses this verse. The “right path,” he says, refers to the path that increases the child’s awareness of their dreams, and their natural gifts and talents. It does not mean, we force our kids to go to church, or shove religion down their throat thinking that eventually they will come around to our way of thinking. They have a choice, just as we do. The best thing we can do is be an example of someone who loves God, and loves their neighbor.

10 Throw out the mocker, and fighting goes, too.
Quarrels and insults will disappear.

I thought mockery was the highest form of flattery. Flattery never leads to quarrels or insults. Right?

13 The lazy person claims, “There’s a lion out there!
If I go outside, I might be killed!”

I love that God wants us to take risks. I love that he wants us to be fearless. I love that he made on the bumper sticker, “No Fear” well over 2 thousand years ago. Lord, help me to not see the lion outside my window.

15 A youngster’s heart is filled with foolishness,
but physical discipline will drive it far away.

Yes! This is why I was drawn to Tae Kwon Do as a kid. This is why my son is in karate now. He’s already way more disciplined than I ever was. I attribute that to strong parenting (yes, you’re right, my wife is a great mother).

16 A person who gets ahead by oppressing the poor
or by showering gifts on the rich will end in poverty.

I’m going to title this verse, Why I Am Not In Politics.

24 Don’t befriend angry people
or associate with hot-tempered people,
25 or you will learn to be like them
and endanger your soul.

Being phlegmatic-melancholy I am naturally repelled by angry, hot-tempered people. It’s nice to have some biblical backing for steering clear of them.

Leave a Comment

