Random Proverbs 4

Tuesday. I really like Tuesday now because it is Random Proverb day and I get a guide for my post. Today, we look at Proverbs 13. Let’s see if we can learn anything.

Proverbs 13

1 A wise child accepts a parent’s discipline;
a mocker refuses to listen to correction.

So if my kid is mocking me, I shouldn’t take that to mean that I am his hero on Earth and he wants to be just like me? Oh boy, I’ve got problems.

True story: We were on the way back from Tennessee and my son and the youth pastor’s son were playing with each other over the seats of the bus. His son wanted my son to lift up the sun shade and let it snap up to the roof. My son said, “No. I can’t do that. I have to obey my dad.” That’s me. Yeah, I told him to stop messing with the son shade a few hours earlier and he remembered. Dad of the Year, here I come.

3 Those who control their tongue will have a long life;
opening your mouth can ruin everything.

When is the appropriate time to share this important information? After an hour in line, waiting for the Harry Potter ride? At the DMV? Waiting in line at the movies when some random dude is yelling at a 16 year old kid because the line isn’t moving fast enough? In any meeting at work? How about when that one guy starts praying in group prayer, and you know it’s going to be a good 10 minutes before he runs out of things to say?

4 Lazy people want much but get little,
but those who work hard will prosper.

I’ll fill this one in later…

6 Godliness guards the path of the blameless,
but the evil are misled by sin.

This one must be for you, because that first part describes me perfectly (cue the lightning flash and loud thunder)

11 Wealth from get-rich-quick schemes quickly disappears;
wealth from hard work grows over time.

Really? Did they have late night infomercials back then too? Is there nothing new anymore? We just find different tools to take money from people the same way. Maybe one of these generations will get it right and figure out that sacrifice, hard work, and discipline are the ways to success.

16 Wise people think before they act;
fools don’t—and even brag about their foolishness.

See Jon Acuff’s post here.

19 It is pleasant to see dreams come true,
but fools refuse to turn from evil to attain them.

Ouch. How many opportunities have I missed because I let me selfish pride/desires get in the way?

20 Walk with the wise and become wise;
associate with fools and get in trouble.

Read also as, “Stay out of corporate America.” If you find a wise person out there in the world, hold on to them. Find someone who is where you want to be and grab on to their coat tails. Humble yourself. Give up your pride. Sit at their feet, and listen.

I’m talking to myself here.

What lessons has God taught you lately?

Leave a Comment

