5 Ways to Get Closer to God – Part 2

Yesterday, I started thinking about different ways to get closer to God; to reconnect during those times when we are in a rut, or just feeling disconnected. Ok, I didn’t just start thinking about it yesterday. I have been thinking about it for a long time because I often find myself in said rut, looking for a way to feel the joy and peace that a right relationship with God offers. But, I did start writing about it yesterday, and will continue today.

You might want to get caught up so you don’t feel lost. Click here. The rest of us, who have already read it, will wait…

Welcome back!

2. Read the Bible

I know. I know. If one more Christian tell you to read the Bible you are going to lose it. I don’t know what “it” is, but I hopes it’s not your Bible.

The Bible is God’s letter to his children. If you are trying to connect, or reconnect with God, then look at his Word. It’s all there. Everything God wants us to know is in the pages of that big dusty book sitting on your shelf.

In the Bible you will find story after story about people running from God, disobeying God, turning away from God, and then crying out to God. And in every story where God’s people call out to God, he listens. There is also a couple stories about God coming down to Earth as a baby, living a human life, teaching and healing people, and then dying so that our sins could be forgiven and we could be free from the things that bind us, and free to have a relationship with God.

I know, crazy, right?

So I dare you, no…I challenge you to pick up that book and start reading. If you are honestly seeking a relationship, or re-connection, with God, then I guarantee that you will hear his voice speaking directly to you in the pages of that book.

What’s in your Bible?

Leave a Comment

