Random Proverbs 5

For Random Proverbs tonight, I am going to attempt to comment on Proverbs 30, also known as, the sayings of Agur. I wasn’t able to find much information on Agur son of Jakeh, but apparently he has a great deal of wisdom. Below are a few excerpts from the chapters along with some thoughts of mine.

Proverbs 30
The Sayings of Agur
1 The sayings of Agur son of Jakeh contain this message.
I am weary, O God;
I am weary and worn out, O God.
2 I am too stupid to be human,
and I lack common sense.
3 I have not mastered human wisdom,
nor do I know the Holy One.

So many people think that Judeo/Christians are perfect, or at least claim to be perfect. Agur shows us here that when we are truly trying to follow God’s will for our life, we end up seeing just how weak we are. We find out how little we actually know and how much we must depend on God. The more I learn about by faith, the more I realize how little I know.

5 Every word of God proves true.
He is a shield to all who come to him for protection.
6 Do not add to his words,
or he may rebuke you and expose you as a liar.

Not really anything I can add here.

10 Never slander a worker to the employer,
or the person will curse you, and you will pay for it.
11 Some people curse their father
and do not thank their mother.
12 They are pure in their own eyes,
but they are filthy and unwashed.
13 They look proudly around,
casting disdainful glances.

What if a co-worker thinks they are pure, but are filthy and unwashed? What if multiple co-workers look proudly around, casting disdainful glances…and making disdainful comments? Who do you tell about that? I usually just bite my lip, and if it occurs to me to do so I pray for them. And then I glance in the little mirror on my desk and realize it is me.

21 There are three things that make the earth tremble—
no, four it cannot endure:
22 a slave who becomes a king,
an overbearing fool who prospers,
23 a bitter woman who finally gets a husband,
a servant girl who supplants her mistress.

Hollywood must of read this. Can we safely say 80% of all movies fall within one of these four categories? I guess hordes of people stampeding towards the ticket booth are what makes the earth tremble. Or, maybe it’s the stampede for seats after hitting the concession stand.

32 If you have been a fool by being proud or plotting evil,
cover your mouth in shame.
33 As the beating of cream yields butter
and striking the nose causes bleeding,
so stirring up anger causes quarrels.

I’m not sure where this is coming from, and I have never really worked in food service, but I imagine this is a lesson that should be taught in every restaurant everywhere. And I wonder what would happen if anyone ever tried not being proud or plotting evil on reality TV shows. Could a reality show about real normal people ever actually work? Is there such a thing as normal people?

Leave a Comment

