Moving Joyfully

About a week ago, a friend asked me to help him move. I reluctantly said yes because this particular person has asked for me help several times in the past and I wasn’t able to. But this time, it was to be on Saturday afternoon. Saturday is typically my day off. I go to the gym in the morning, and spend most of the day getting stuff done at home, lounging around, watching movies, TV, or UFC, and generally just taking it easy.

I told my wife I was going to help him in a tone of voice that said, “I’m going to help him, but I really don’t want to.” He isn’t a close friend, and I didn’t want to give up my free day. As the words came out of my mouth I realized that I was wrong. I needed to choose a new attitude. If I wasn’t going to help him joyfully, then I shouldn’t help him at all.

Saturday came. I had already skipped the gym because it was raining, and we had been out somewhat late the night before. The start time got pushed back to the afternoon. A whole Saturday at home in the rain. Yes, please. Bring on Lord of the Rings. But no, this guy needed help. And, he had the courage to reach out to me, and to others, and ask for help. So I had to help.

I prepared myself mentally as I drove through the rain to his apartment. I wasn’t sure what to expect as I had never been to his place before, and I didn’t even know where we were moving his stuff to. I pulled up just as he came home with a moving trailer. I followed him upstairs to assess the moving situation. Please don’t let there be too much heavy stuff. There were only a couple of really heavy pieces, and most everything else was already boxed up.

I spent the first 10-15 minutes wrapping up some dishes, and other kitchen stuff. By the time I had finished that, three other guys had shown up. They are three of my closest friends. Immediately, the mood brightened. We began joking around like teenagers. We took care of the heavy stuff first. We only almost died a few times getting a China Cabinet down a flight of stairs with a 180 degree turn. The rest of the move was pretty standard. The rain didn’t seem to slow us down much and actually cooled things off. Most of his stuff was going to a storage facility a few miles away and the trailer wasn’t big enough to just make one trip. So we made three trips, and ran out of gas the last time. We sat on the side of the road for a good 30 minutes while one person went to get gas.

It turned out to be a great day. It’s amazing how a group of people can get together, and when they all decide to be joyful, then any task can turn into fun. I don’t think we will be starting a moving company anytime soon, but if I could spend my Saturday doing hard labor with anyone, it would be those guys.

 

Leave a Comment

