Narrow Gates and Broad Highways

Have you ever noticed how easy it is to not follow God? Almost 70% of the world doesn’t follow God. And of the 33% that do, pretty much all of them don’t follow God all the time.

I wish someone would have warned us how difficult of a task it would be to follow God’s will for our lives. I wish they would have told us that life might actually get harder when you allow God into your heart. I wish there was a nice over-sized warning written somewhere that everyone would see that said, “Caution, slippery road ahead.”

Oh, wait…

Matthew 7:13-14 (NLT)

13 “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way.

14 But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.

Jesus himself tells us how hard it is going to be.

What kind of terrible marketing is this?

“Hey come follow me if you want to live (Side effects may include, but are not limited to mockery, ridicule, hatred, and death – and that’s just for saying you follow me, you should see what happens if you actually try to put that into practice).”

Yeah, sign me up for that deal.

Wouldn’t it just be easier to follow the herd and do whatever you want? After all, you only live once (YOLO!), right?

Sure. That would work. Except there is that whole eternity thing to think about.

This is temporary. Our earthly life is temporary; here today gone tomorrow, or something. This (these 80 years, if we are lucky) is our chance to show God how much we love him, and to accept the infinite love that he offers us. This is our chance to test our free will, to live in a world filled with death and destruction and choose life and love despite everything working against us. It’s awfully tempting to give in to what the world would have us do, and many times we do. It feels good. It satisfies some fleshly desire. It makes us feel important, powerful, wanted, needed, or validated. But just like our earthly life, it is temporary. The feeling fades away and we either have to re-up; give into temptation again, or feel the shame and the guilt of our wrong choices.

So though I may fall off the difficult road more often than I would like to admit, I know that I will always find it in me to claw and scratch my way back onto that road. I’ll accept the hand stretched out to me and let God, and my brothers, help me back onto the road. I’ll keep my eyes on that narrow gate until that day when I am able to walk through it and live for eternity in a place without death, without destruction, without temptation; a place filled with joy, and life, and community, and love.

Which path are you walking?

Leave a Comment

