Random Proverbs 6

The more I read Proverbs, the more I am convinced that Biz Stone and Evan Williams did not invent twitter. Sure, they gave it a names and confined it to 140 characters, but the idea was invented thousands of years ago.

These simple phrases of wisdom can be read over and over during different points in your life and each time you will gain a different understanding of them. One day, you may actually learn something from them and start living them out in your daily life.

Today’s Random Proverbs are from Proverbs 19.

2 Enthusiasm without knowledge is no good;

haste makes mistakes.

You remember that kid at camp that would get an idea to climb a tree in the woods, convinces two other kids to do the same, and then they all got stuck because no one bothered to look for a way down before they climbed up? The kid had good intentions. He was going to wait up there for the counselor to walk by and then drop a water balloons on him. The problem was it was camp, and no one brought water balloons. And now, instead of a funny prank, was a 3 hour ordeal to get the kids out of the tree. That could’ve really happened, and if it did, I hope that kid found this little nugget of wisdom and laughed at his own stupidity. And I hope I remembered a valuable lesson: never follow a 12 year old up a tree.

3 People ruin their lives by their own foolishness

and then are angry at the LORD.

It’s hard for me to understand why people get mad at God. I mean, I’ve gone through some crappy times in my life and it was either something I had no control over, or it was totally my fault. Maybe I haven’t lived enough. But, the way I figure it, unless your name is Job and you just lost your family, health, and practically your life, you don’t really have the right to be upset with God. And even if you are Job, get ready, because it won’t be long before you see the error of your ways.

8 To acquire wisdom is to love oneself;

people who cherish understanding will prosper.

If I were allowed to append this, I would either define “wisdom” or change it to “true wisdom” or something like that. With the internet at our fingertips and in our pockets, it is very easy to gain knowledge. Anyone can look up anything about anything. Arguments don’t last near as long as they used to. That guy from the movie that you thought was the same guy that was in the Green Mile was actually the guy who plays Commissioner Gordon in the new Batman movies. I know. He looks different in every movie he is in, but if we didn’t have the internet right there, that argument could have gone on a while.

That has nothing to do with wisdom or loving one’s self. That has everything to do with being right and showing off your ability to use IMDB.com (or the mobile app, available in the app store now). True Wisdom comes from life experience; life lessons. It comes from God. It comes from good teachers and hard failures. The people that take the time to listen, to think, and to understand the things they learn – those are the people that show their love for themselves and God.

11 Sensible people control their temper;

they earn respect by overlooking wrongs.

I’m putting this above the entrance of my old job, or above the entrance of any company with a sales department. Sales managers are some of the most hot headed people I have ever met. On the other hand, a good youth pastor, with years of experience, can be an incredible example of controlling your temper and overlooking wrongs. You want to learn how to get screwed over and forgive wrongs over and over again? Work with teenagers. No really, we need more volunteers at my youth group. Please!

14 Fathers can give their sons an inheritance of houses and wealth,

but only the LORD can give an understanding wife.

In my life, this is absolutely true. I love you, babe.

17 If you help the poor, you are lending to the LORD—

and he will repay you!

Confession: The last 2 times I went downtown, I had people ask me for a couple bucks. I don’t usually carry cash on me, not so I can avoid this situation, but because I am just too lazy to get cash, but on these two particular occasions, I declined to help despite having cash in my pocket. I hope the next time this happens, I will do what I know is right, regardless of what my brain is telling me they plan to do with the money.

18 Discipline your children while there is hope.

Otherwise you will ruin their lives.

I need to ponder this one because I don’t fully understand it. But, I think this is directed at parents who try to be their kid’s best friend. I may not hit or spank my kid, but I have no issues with disciplining him when he needs it. I’m sure we are going to screw him up somehow, but I think we are doing a pretty good job in the discipline department. Plus, he is an absolutely awesome kid.

20 Get all the advice and instruction you can,

so you will be wise the rest of your life.

You hear that kids. Stay in school! School is cool.

21 You can make many plans,

but the LORD’s purpose will prevail.

Yeah, buddy! I make plans all the time that don’t come to fruition. I’m learning more and more each day the importance of letting go and letting God. He’s got it all under control. We just have to learn to trust him…completely.

27 If you stop listening to instruction, my child,

you will turn your back on knowledge.

This is another reason we need to be in the Word on a daily basis. It’s why, at the very least, we should be reading something everyday. We spend all these years in school (because it’s cool) and then we start working jobs. We learn the job. We do the job. Over time, things settle down and we do very little learning. We know what we need to know and that’s about it. If we aren’t careful, we will start losing more and more knowledge, or at least lose the thirst for knowledge. We have to stay thirsty. We have to strive to keep learning, keep growing, and keep challenging what we think we know.

Stay thirsty my friends.

Leave a Comment

