Surrender to Sanity

There is a song I like right now, that I know I have mentioned here before, called White Flag. The chorus says this:

We raise our white flag,
We surrender all to you, all for you.
We raise our white flag, the war is over.
Love has come, Your love has won.

It’s an awesome statement. It’s something we should all seek to do. It’s easy to say, but hard to do.

There are those rock bottom days when you have nowhere else to go, and you look up and surrender yourself to God because there is really no other option. Those days; those tough, sad, depressing, maddening, frustrating, impossible days are easy days to give up control to God.

But what about all the other days? What about the days when things are going alright. What about the days when we think we have everything under control? You know, the days that tend to lead up to rock bottom days.

I’ve been reading a bit about sanity. And, by default, insanity. If insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results, then what is sanity?

To me, sanity is having a clear view of God’s will for my life. It’s being able to think realistically about my life and the situations that life puts before me. Sanity is not the fantasy world that I so often find myself trying to live in…the world where everything goes my way, where everyone reacts the way I think they will act, where everyone knows what I am thinking and reacts accordingly, where everyone is on time, where everyone is exactly as they are suppose to be…according to my will.

Sanity comes when we are willing to make a conscious decision every day to give ourselves over to God. When we can ask God to protect our minds, to guide our actions, to show us his will that’s when we live a sane life. When we dedicate today to God, then we can live a sane life. It’s not a decision we make once sitting in a church after a particularly good sermon. It’s not a decision we make on Monday that sticks with us for the rest of the week. It, for me, has to be a decision I make every day, sometimes multiple times a day, live according to His will and not my own.

Psalm 73:26
My mind and my body may grow weak, but God is my strength, he is all I ever need.

Leave a Comment

