Random Proverbs 7

Some more Random Proverb wisdom for your reading pleasure.

Proverbs 17

1 Better a dry crust eaten in peace
than a house filled with feasting—and conflict.

This might explain why I like to eat pizza by myself.

3 Fire tests the purity of silver and gold,
but the LORD tests the heart.

I wonder if God could melt down my heart and remake it into one of the those knuckle rings that say “love” across my fist.

Actually, my hope is that through testing my heart, God will make it more pure; he will transform my mind throught the renewing of my heart (I didn’t make that up, it came from Romans 12:2).

4 Wrongdoers eagerly listen to gossip;
liars pay close attention to slander.

A.K.A. the inspiration for most social media websites.

8 A bribe is like a lucky charm;
whoever gives one will prosper!

I really don’t understand what this is saying. Are we supposed to give bribes? I’m going to test this out the next time I get pulled over.

9 Love prospers when a fault is forgiven,
but dwelling on it separates close friends.

I know, right?!? Close friends should never dwell on love. That seems pretty common sense.

Oh, wait. He must mean fault, not love. Yeah, we shouldn’t dwell on that either.

13 If you repay good with evil,
evil will never leave your house.

Just like mom used to say, “If you can’t repay with good, then don’t repay at all.”

16 It is senseless to pay tuition to educate a fool,
since he has no heart for learning.

There’s some kind of financial aid or welfare joke in there somewhere, but I can’t find it. Also, does this extend to the public school system? Can I claim “educating fools” as a deduction on my taxes?

17 A friend is always loyal,
and a brother is born to help in time of need.

I don’t know about friends alway being loyal, but I suppose when they say “friend” they mean a real friend. And, in my experience, those real friends have not only been loyal, but they have also been brothers. And, my closest friends; my closest brothers came into my life at just the right time.

27 A truly wise person uses few words;
a person with understanding is even-tempered.

I’m cool. You’re cool. God’s awesome.

28 Even fools are thought wise when they keep silent;
with their mouths shut, they seem intelligent.

Leave a Comment

