A Renewed Focus. And Other Things.

Don’t stare at this too long. It will hurt your eyes.

I’m a big fan of simple.

I like things neat and clutter free.

I like empty surfaces and open space.

Recently, I was thinking about this blog and where it is going. I was pondering what No Cubicle Required really meant and where I saw this going in the near future.

Originally, I had this idea that it would be about the Christian experience in Corporate America. It would be a satire on the workplace. But, then I realized I didn’t have much to say on that topic. I have been living the cubicle life for 10 years, but because I have always felt this was a temporary stop for me, I never really immersed myself in corporate life or played the office games. I’m not a fan of office politics or office drama. I’m not trying to climb any ladders or throw anyone under he bus. I come in, do my work, slack off some, think about things that aren’t related to work, and head out. I see people talking in the hallways about TPC reports, POS devices, PIPs, SOPs, OCE connections, and on and on. It hurts my head just thinking about it and they discuss these things like they are the most important thing in the world. I just can’t buy into it.

So I’m not suited to write corporate satire.

Then I thought this would be about dreams and goals. It would be about breaking free from the rat race and striking out on your own to conquer some goal, or achieve some dream.

And, to some extent that is still true.

Looking at what I have written, it became clear to me what this blog is about. It is simple. It is about my faith, my family, and my focus. Meaning, it is about my experience outside my cubicle. I may be stuck at a desk for 40 hours a week, but that does not define who I am. It’s just what I do. It provides for my family, it is a place to practice my faith, and it drives my focus to attain something which God has in store for me, but it is still just a job.

Faith. Family. Focus.

And that would be nice and simple, just the way I like. But there are a few other things here too. There is the fun stuff; the physical fitness part of my life, the links I find in my daily reading, and all the miscellaneous stuff that I want to share with you all that I find fun, or funny. Then there are the photos; a hobby of mine and this is an outlet for my desire to share that hobby with other people. And finally, the fiction. The fiction is a part of my focus. It is a dream. It is a goal. It is a skill that I need to practice. Writing, in all forms, is something I need to practice, but fiction was my first dream as a child, and so fiction must be included as a part of my writing goals.

So there you have it.

Faith. Fun. Family. Focus. Fiction. And some Photos.

These are the topics that will drive this blog going forward and I am going to take the time to re-categorize the 100+ previous posts to fall into these topics.

Thank you all so much for continuing to come here and read these words. It means a lot to me that anyone would actually take the time to read what I write (except my wife, who is obligated by law to read this everyday).

Leave a Comment

