The Power of Power Rangers

It’s been almost 20 years since the first episode of The Mighty Morphin Power Rangers aired. How do I know that? Well, recently my 6 year old son became obsessed with the Power Rangers franchise. He devours episode of the show on Netflix.

This morning, we watched Season 1, episode 1 of Power Rangers. The last time I saw that episode I was 14 years old, sitting in the living room of my mom’s old house. I remember it because I too was obsessed with the show and watched it every day that I could throughout high school. I actually had to scan the TV guide to know when the show would air. And, once an episode aired, that was pretty much it unless they played a re-run at some point. My son is able to watch any episode from any of the last 19 seasons at any time (as long as he has permission from mom and dad).

It was a bit surreal watching the show with him and talking about who was who and why certain things were happening. I never thought, when I was a 14 year old boy, that I would one day watch those episodes with my son, and that he would be as into martial arts as I was (am). I guess it is just one of those father/son moments that are bound to happen over and over throughout our relationship.

It reminds me of how thankful I am that God gave me such and amazing child. I’ve learned so much about love over the last 6 years; both how to give and and how to receive it. Those lessons have helped save me from my sinful, selfish ways.

I look forward to seeing how God will continue to teach me through fatherhood.

How has God taught you?

2 thoughts on “The Power of Power Rangers

  1. Great post. ” I never thought, when I was a 14 year old boy, that I would one day watch those episodes with my son,” This can be applied in so many ways to nearly everyone. Personally, I can say it about my G.I. Joe action figures. When I was younger I never thought I would be watching my child play with them. I still don’t have any children, but the possibility very much exists.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment. It is also cool to see how your kids change when they know you are/were into something that they like. I am pretty sure he got way more obsessed with Power Rangers after he found out dad was a fan (ok, is a fan). It will happen to you before you know it. Just wait until your kid starts writing his/her own stories. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

