The Only Mathematical Formula You Will Ever Need

I wasn’t a big fan of math in school. Despite being a genius (by my definition) when it came to Algebra, I could not, for the life of me, understand geometry and trigonometry. That may have been part of the reason I chose to study literature in college and never went beyond College Algebra and Statistics. I got the requirements done, and left math in my past.

And that’s why I work as, basically, a financial analyst today.

If you are scratching your head at that one, then you aren’t alone. I’ve been trying to figure that one out for 6 years. I’ve also been trying to figure out what my purpose is. What is it that I would be excited about doing every single day? What job out there would I wake up and look forward to going to everyday? What kind of work can I do that I am good at, can make decent money doing, and that I enjoy?  I have yet to find the perfect combination.

But the answer just got a lot closer.

While catching up on Jon Acuff’s blog last week, I came across the image below. This brought a lot of things into focus for me. It’s so incredibly simple, but so hard to understand if it isn’t put out there, like this, right in front of your face.

purpose

God told us to love our neighbors. Jesus told us to go out and make disciples of all men. We know, innately, we know that we are supposed to help other people. But somewhere between the private school tuition, the credit card debt, and the mortgage, we lose site of this. We get so wrapped up in our own little world that we forget that there are other people out there who need us. We think we don’t have enough and we forget that there are people out there who don’t have anything. And then even when we do remember those people, we think, “I’d love to help, but I don’t know how.”

So here it is. You take that desire to help others and add in what you are good at, and then you have found your purpose.

Leave a Comment

