Dedication and Consistency

I had this idea that I would be able to continue to post meaningful content for years as long as I was dedicated and consistent in my effort. After only 5 or 6 months I have now found it difficult to maintain the output of information that I wanted to create. Part of it is laziness and part of it was that I exhausted my tank and wasn’t filling it up fast enough to keep going.

I am still dedicated to writing, and to finding a way to make this pay the bills, God willing.

I came across the article below a few days ago and was awe struck by the dedication and consistency that this photographer exemplified. He managed to take a Polaroid picture just about everyday for 18 years. After his death, his friends turned his collection of photographs into an art installation and a website.

Photographer Took One Photo Every Day for Eighteen Years

Dedication. Consistency. It takes both to achieve our dreams. But, there has to be more to it. There has to be something else that drives us to carve the time out of our day to not just create, but to fill ourselves up so that we can create more. Jamie Livingston (the photographer) has inspired me through his effort to write this post, and to think about my level of dedication and consistent effort towards my dream. He filled my tank a little bit and that makes him an inspiration.

I’ve also started listening to more podcasts of sermons by preachers I like, or am discovering that I like. And, I am getting back into a regular reading habit (Bible and otherwise). It is my hope that all these things will equal inspiration and motivation to make sure I don’t let this dream slip away.

Who inspires you? What motivates you? What are you doing to make your dreams come true? Tell me. I want to know.

Leave a Comment

