Cubicles!? We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Cubicles.

I read a lot of tech news articles. I mean, I read A LOT of tech news articles. Since I first heard rumors that Apple was working on developing a cell phone, I have been a tech news junky. I’ve tempered my addiction somewhat over the last year, but I still keep a finger on the pulse of what’s happening in the world of gadgets, start-ups, and the big players in tech.

The word ‘pivot’ has been a hot one lately. All these tech companies are pivoting towards something new. They are changing their focus, abandoning their original products and ideas. Start-ups are taking risks; pivoting this way, then pivoting again until Yahoo comes along and buys them for way too much money. when the tech world gets a hold of an idea, everyone jumps on the wagon. Or, perhaps its just the people that cover tech news that beat the life out of words like pivot and disrupt.

What I am trying to say is the No Cubicle Required is going to pivot, sort of. It’s going to turn back towards its original intention. I have used this space to write about a variety of things, mostly faith based. And, no doubt, some of that will still exist as the path I am on is a one that will require my faith and trust in God to increase. My main focus, however, will now be on talking about what it means to live a life outside of a cubicle.

What do I mean?

I’ve spent the last 13 years working in cubicles. The daily needs of my family were provided by the companies in who’s cubicles I lived. I spent almost 7 years sitting in the same cubicle, doing the same job. A year and a half ago, I took a new position at the same company and finally got to move to a new cube. A few days ago, I was part of a round of layoffs. Now I have no cube.

I’ve been hoping that somehow, one day, I would be freed from the cube, and be allowed to leave the collective. But, I never had the courage to take the necessary step of faith to get out. I thought about leaving so much that even the idea for this blog came out of a fantasy I had while still deep in the trenches of the cube farm.

I’m not trying to put down the idea of office work, or say that working in a cube is somehow wrong, or disgraceful. I’m simply saying that it isn’t the life I was meant for. It isn’t the life I want.

I want to write. I want to be a writer. This is the goal.

No Cubicle Required will be a place for me to continue to practice the craft of writing. It will chronicle my successes, flops, failures, and “Ah-Ha” moments on my journey towards my goal of living a life outside of the cubicle. In doing so, I hope other people out there will be inspired to chase after the life they deep-down know is meant for them; to find a dream, and pursue it.

Let’s get on with it.

One thought on “Cubicles!? We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Cubicles.

Leave a Comment

