Passion Without Cubicles

Having been freed from employment recently, I’ve had some extra time to browse around the internet. One of the things that has struck me is how many people out there find passion and fulfillment in a variety of things. We get blinded by our own lives, worries, stresses, and responsibilities and forget what it is that we are truly passionate about.

I’ve compiled some videos below that show how passion can drive us towards new jobs, new ways of life, and new perspectives towards the world.

The idea started with this video from Field Notes. I was on their website looking to see if they had any cool new notebooks I couldn’t live without. I happened upon this video of Aaron Draplin, a designer, talking about a project he worked on for Field Notes. Never have I ever seen someone so passionate about memo books. His passion for their origins and their design was amazing. It jumped off the screen and couldn’t be ignored.

Field Notes Brand: From Seed from Coudal Partners on Vimeo.

The next two are a bit more fun.

This one is of Gentry Stein, who recently won the 2014 World YoYo Championships. My interest in yo-yos is not very strong. I like them. I can use them. I can even do a pretty fantastic Around the World. But, on a scale of 1-10, when it comes to passion for yo-yos, I’d say I am at a solid 2. Gentry’s level of passion is easily an 11. Look at the confidence he exudes when performing. Check out the joy in his eyes as he wows the crowd.

And then there is Doug McKenzie. Doug is a magician who does some amazing tricks(?) with cards, money, and cell phones. Doug is quite obviously passionate about what he does and is working on taking his art form to another level. If you ask me, he’s most certainly some kind of wizard.

Cool Hunting Video: Magician Doug McKenzie from Cool Hunting on Vimeo.

Last on the list is one that sits a little closer to my heart because it deals with running. I’m not the greatest runner in the world, and though there have been times in my life that I have been passionate about running, for the most part, running is a hobby. I am much more passionate about having run that I am about running itself. I much prefer to say, I ran 6 miles yesterday, rather than, I’m about to go run 6 miles. Does that make sense?

This short film by Luis Pena is a tribute to trail running that I found on the FitBit Blog. If you aren’t inspired to go out and run after you watch, then you can definitely cross running off your list of possible passions.

for the love from luis peña on Vimeo.

What I couldn’t find was a video of people sitting in cubicles talking about how passionate they were about office work. I’m not saying those people don’t exist, but there just doesn’t seem to be anyone making films about it.

What are you passionate about? Take some time today to consider this question and ask yourself if there is something you can be doing to make your passion your job.

Leave a Comment

