And, We’re Off

And we're offTo say life has been interesting over the past 3-6 months would be an understatement.

In that time, we have helped start a church, our son went to sleep-away camp for the first time, I was laid off, and now — well, now is what this blog is all about.

Things have started happening over the last couple of week. I would like to say that it started with the job at the marble and granite shop, but really it started with a dream and a plan to piece together a full-time income with part-time work.

The reason I am going this route is so that I don’t have to put all my financial eggs in one basket. If I work 5-7 little jobs and one ends, or I am unhappy, then I can replace it without the devastating effects of leaving a full-time job. It also gives me the opportunity to do work that I enjoy, be creative, and never (hopefully) get too bored in any one endeavor.

The challenge is to find the right work, and enough of it, and still be able to have a healthy work-life balance. Can I make a full-time income and still volunteer my time to places that I think are meaningful? Can I work multiple jobs and still spend time with my family? Can I maintain a healthy lifestyle physically, spiritually, and financially?

There will be a learning curve, no doubt. I don’t pretend to have all the answers, but as I live out this dream, I will succeed (and fail), learn, and move forward.

What I know today is that it is possible to find real work that is satisfying creatively, and profitable financially. I still have a ways to go to keep life status-quo, but I feel like I am moving in the right direction, and trust that God will provide for the needs of my family. Putting trust in God doesn’t mean that you sit and wait for Him to drop a pile of money in your lap, or that the perfect opportunity will knock at the door. Putting my faith, and trust in God gives me the confidence to move forward in pursuing my dream with out fear (or, with little fear) of heading down the wrong path and ending up back in a place I didn’t want to be.

What’s happening?

Right now, I have three things happening.

  1. Marble/Granite Shop – It’s been a little over a week since I started working there part time. In that time, I have learned about the processes and websites they are creating, and made a list of recommendations/fixes for both. I have also created two manuals for users. There is still a lot to do, and I expect this project will continue another 3 weeks, or so.
  2. Tech Blogging – I came across an ad online for a tech blog looking for writers. I sent in my information, spoke to the editor, submitted a writing sample, and was asked to join the team. It’s not the biggest, most prestigious blog out there, but they’ve got a great team of enthusiastic young writers, and a quality editor. As of this writing, I have posted two articles with one pending review. My focus is smartwatches and fitness bands. The position is un-paid at the moment, but I don’t believe it will take much time for me to start getting paid per post. If nothing else, the experience and the exposure will be of value in the near future, and this could be a spring board to a bigger blog. Time will tell.
  3. Social Media – I had a follow-up meeting with the Real-Estate Agent/Property Management team and received a long list of things they could use my help with. We are still discussion compensation, but this is definitely something I will pursue and it will lead to other opportunities.

This is all in addition to my regular blogging gig for SupplyShield, and the volunteer work I am doing for my church, family, and friends.

That’s four jobs total, and I could use 2-3 more paid gigs. There are other things in the works, but nothing for sure at the moment.

Shameless Self-Promotion

Thank you all for your support and prayers. And, if you know anyone looking for a writer/content creator, you know who to send them to. I recently put up a personal website so people could contact me. It’s easy to remember if you are out and about and hear of something you think I might be interested in. Simply let people know that can go to robvanasco.com to find out more about me and get in contact with me.

2 thoughts on “And, We’re Off

  1. I heard the following quote recently: “Life is made up of 10% of the circumstances that happen to you and 90% of how you respond to those circumstances.” I find there to be so much truth in that statement. It is so easy to let our attitudes either slow us down, or stop us altogether.

    So many people spend a majority of their life living in that 10%. However, it is obvious by the actions that you are taking that you are living in the 90%, and it is very inspiring to watch!

    Keep focusing on that next step and results will keep coming.

    Like

Leave a Comment

